Confessions of a Product Junkie

During my entire high school career I had the privilege of working in a salon. I think this is where my love for all things fashion really started. Everyday I went into work was like a fashion show and I loved being apart of it. My fashion sense wasn’t the only thing that I gained from this experience. It was here I became a huge product junky. I loved experimenting with new things, everything from make-up to hair products. That being said, it was very difficult to come up with a small list of products that are always in my makeup bag but here are my five essentials.

Face Primer:
Personally, I like priming my skin before I put on any foundation. During the day, I don’t really have time to touch up my make-up, nor do I really want to be that girl in the bathroom reapplying her face before class. That being said, a primer really assures that my foundation is going to last all day. My all time favorite is One Step Correct from Stila. This primer is unique because it conceals redness, moisturizes and brightens your skin. While it is on the more side, all you need is a pea size amount for you entire face and if you asked me, it’s completely worth the investment. Also by using a primer, you don’t have to touch up your make up as frequently so you are using less foundation.

Foundation:
As someone who has struggled with acne so bad that my teen years were spent on Acutance, I have tried pretty much every single foundation on the market (at this time I would like to give a big shout out to the women of the Sephora in Ridgedale Mall, you all are the real MVPs). After a lot of experimenting, failure and overall frustration, I have finally figured out a combination of two products that work best for my skin. After my primer, I use Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer as my next step. Tined moisturizer is a moisturizer that has color in it to provide sheer coverage for your skin. If I’m not breaking out too bad and my skin is cooperating, I will just put this on then my bronzer, blush and be done. But if my skin is being annoying, I will follow this up by applying bareMinerals foundation on my entire face. This powder is absolutely amazing and always covers up any imperfections that make me self-conscious. I like applying the moisturizer before the powder because it gives my face a little more of a dewy look that I love. Although I use the two together, both of these products are amazing on their own. It really comes down to a preference of liking the look of a powder or liquid foundation.

Blush and Bronzer:
I typically don’t enjoy doing a full face of makeup for class unless I have a presentation or an important meeting that day. Because of this, I think it is especially important to have a blush and bronzer that you are in love with. These two products are also crucial for me because with out them, I look like Casper the Friendly Ghost. For as long as I can remember, I have been using NARS’ Laguna bronzer and Orgasm blush. While the name of the blush is beyond aggressive, I have yet to find one that transitions better from my tan summer skin (LOL my version of tan basically means I’m not see-through) to my pale skin in the winter, making it a great year round product. The bronzer and blush come in a duo and they seriously last forever. I could not imagine my make-up routine without them.

Eyelid Primer:
I have already mentioned that I love using a primer for my face but I love using one for my eyes too. Eyelid primer helps to make the pigmentation of the colors in your eye shadow stand out more and also helps the shadow to stay on all day long. This is especially nice if I’m going out because my eye makeup tends to wear by the end of the night. By using a primer, I know that my shadow will stay on. I swear by Urban Decay’s Primer Potion, the stuff is pure gold. All you need is a tiny little dot for your entire eyelid and it completely changes the look of your eye shadow. Again, it is a little bit of an investment but it lasts forever. I also think that it’s important to mention, like with face primer, that if you are using eyelid primer, you don’t have to touch up your make up as much therefore use less eye shadow.

Eye Shadow:
I am completely and madly in love with my Naked Eye Shadow Palette. While I don’t do a full face of make-up everyday, I couldn’t imagine my life without it. Seriously it’s amazeballs. The palette is by Urban Decay and comes in three different versions. I personally have the Naked2, which I like because it has the browns, golds and a black color, making it super versatile. It is the perfect palate for doing a smoky eye but there are several colors in there that can be worn alone. Instead of doing a traditional eyeliner, I also love using the darker colors in the palette to line my eyes. Again, the palette is on the expensive side but the investments are TOTALLY worth it. I have had mine for a year and half now and have only hit the bottom on one of my colors. If the full palette is too much of stretch, they also offer a basics palette in both the original Naked and Naked2.

Leave a Reply

