Backs, Buns & Lips

Helloooooo fashion lovers and my friends and family who feel obligated to read! I apologize that it’s been a while since my last post! I’ve been getting back into the swing of things up at school so my mind has been all over the place. Nonetheless, it feels good to be writing again and I promise to get back to writing to you guys on a regular basis! So, to kick things off, I think it’s time to update you all on what my must haves of the moment are.

Baby got back:
Before you start going off like you’re Sir Mix-a-Lot, let me clarify, I’m not talking about your buns, hun. I am currently obsessed with open back tops. According to E! News, the back is said to be “this year’s hottest accessory” and I couldn’t be more excited about it. There is something so crazy sexy, yet classy, about a dress or top that is modest in the front and has an open back. Most ladies who are large chested can agree that it’s difficult at times to find tops, and even dresses, with interesting necklines that don’t require you to remind people that your eyes are “up here”. Shirts with open backs eliminate that issue entirely while still adding some dimension to your outfit.

Blanket Scarfs:
My man always makes fun of me because I am obsessed with making myself into a burrito blanket. To burrito ones self in a blanket, basically all you do is put a blanket on top of your head and curl up in it so only your face is exposed. Don’t knock it until you try it. But because wearing a blanket is socially unacceptable in most places (and not CTG approved), I have found a compromise: blanket scarfs. A blanket scarf is like a normal scarf but like two times bigger. They are cozy and perfect for a chilly winters day. Throw one over a big t-shirt, leggings, and boots and you have yourself a really chic outfit. My all time favorite one comes from Urban Outfitters, you can check it out here: http://www.urbanoutfitters.com/urban/catalog/productdetail.jsp?id=33106113&parentid=W_ACC_SCARVES#/

Lip Liner:
Over winter break, I hit up my local MAC Cosmetics counter (surprise, right?) and was introduced to my new favorite makeup product. The makeup artist was helping me pick out a new lipstick and she asked me if I had ever used lip liner. My mind instantly went to Pamela Anderson in the 90’s rocking black lip liner and I’m sure my facial expression showed that because she laughed and told me to trust her. She was explaining to me that sometimes when you put on lipstick, especially darker colors, it’s hard to get the outer part of your lips. Think of it this way, it’s kind of like when you’re coloring (yes, I am 21 years old and still color) and you outline the entire picture so you stay inside the lines. It’s a simple trick that makes a world of difference in your results! I highly suggest going to a makeup counter and having someone there teach you.

Half up half down buns:
First off, I have to admit that I was not a huge fan of this hairstyle when I first saw it. My sister was trying to convince me that it was cute but I was just not having it. Now, I couldn’t be more obsessed. So Nat, you were right… this time. Its super easy to do, very chic, and perfect for when you’ve skipped washing your hair. These little buns are a nice way to change it up from every girl’s beloved messy bun, so give it a try! I have attached a video from a vloger on how to do it!

If you haven’t already, be sure to follow Crop Top Girl on Instagram (crop.top.girl) to see how I rock some of the trends I’ve mentioned in this post!

Leave a Reply

