Spring Trends 2015

Minnesota is such a tease. About a week ago, my man and I were taking a walk around the lake and the weather was in the high 60s and absolutely beautiful. Now, there is snow on the ground… YOU’RE A FUNNY ONE MINNIE. Anyway, while I know it still feels like winter, it’s a good time to start looking at spring/summer trends and start getting pieces to add to your wardrobe. It’s also the perfect time to combine your favorite winter pieces with some new spring pieces. The cold can’t last long because this season’s tends are hot!

That 70s style:
I am jacked because the 70s are back! “Amaze balls” is the only way to really describe fashion in the 70s. Prints were wild, colors were loud, the flare was big, oh and fringe, lots of fringe. It’s about being creative and fun. We started to see this trend pop up a little bit last summer with floppy hats and printed pants, but now we are seeing it in full effect. With that in mind, I think the best thing to invest in is high waisted bell-bottoms. I know it’s terrifying walking away from your skinny jeans but trust me this trend is killer. You can either rock denim bell-bottoms or fabric, either way, pair it with a crop top and you have yourself a look any hippy would die for. I have attached a few of my favorites below for you to take a look at. If you are looking to add just a little funk to your style, an easy way to do that is adding 70s inspired accessories, such as a fringe bag, floppy hat or big sunglasses. Hot colors to incorporate include mustard yellow, burnt orange, pink and denim blue. Silhouettes to look out for include bell sleeves, very loose, almost baggy, tops, and dresses. The best places to find this stuff are thrift stores, Free People and Top Shop.

Bell-bottoms:
http://www.freepeople.com/clothes-denim-jeans/denim-super-flare/_/PRODUCTOPTIONIDS/1E2673E1-64EC-4499-9069-A99FCC116950/
http://www.freepeople.com/clothes-denim-wide-leg-jeans-flare-jeans/destroyed-5pkt-flare/_/PRODUCTOPTIONIDS/BEE1C344-4601-4985-97DB-EB5BCFE2AD06/
http://www.freepeople.com/clothes-pants-wideleg-flare/novelty-knit-wideleg/

Accessories:
http://www.freepeople.com/tooled-wallet/
http://www.freepeople.com/accessories-sunglasses/twiggy-round-sunglass/_/PRODUCTOPTIONIDS/F41043CA-B93C-4663-9E51-620B10B9F1F6/
http://www.freepeople.com/accessories-sunglasses/goodnight-moon-sunglasses-26962431/

Less is more:
Now I know I am going in the completely opposite direction from 70s style but just roll with me for a second. Minimalist style is also very in this season, which is awesome because most of us aren’t going to have to go buy a bunch of new pieces to accomplish this look. For me, minimalist is basics that are very simple and clean, from colors to cuts. I think a really good example of this is what has become known as the ‘Kardashian Look.’ Unless you’ve been living under a rock for the last year you know the Kardashian crew has adopted the look of a bod con skirt with a crop top in the same color. What’s really in for spring/summer is doing all white everything. Below I have attached my favorite picks for white jeans, trust me you’re going to want to snag a pair.

http://www.urbanoutfitters.com/urban/catalog/productdetail.jsp?id=34317107&category=W_APP_JEANS (these are on sale this week!!)

One and done:
I don’t know if I have ever fully expressed my love for rompers on CTG but I am basically in a committed relationship with them. They are easy, perfect and I don’t know what I would do without them. This spring we are starting to see a lot more of what I like to call fancy rompers, aka jumpsuits. They are great because they combine masculine elements to create an overall crazy sexy look. You can make them work appropriate by adding a blazer or create a look for night with a pair of heels. If you love rompers, you’re going to love this jumpsuit trend. Some that I am currently obsessed with:
http://www.freepeople.com/clothes-jumpsuits-rompers/bali-tanah-romper/
http://us.topshop.com/en/tsus/product/clothing-70483/rompers-jumpsuits-4107634/plunge-bandeau-jumpsuit-3224412?bi=41&ps=20

Trends that are carrying over from fall:
Sports wear: I know I’ve talked about channeling your inner Sporty Spice a few times on the blog but this can continue into the spring. Keep turning your gym clothes into something that you can wear everyday by rocking joggers or wearing kick ass tennis shoes with skirts and dresses.

Brands that are going to get really hot this season:
For Love and Lemons: I am so obsessed with this brand it makes me want to sell vital organs so I can pay for their pieces. I wore one of their sets to the Sam Smith concert in January and couldn’t be more obsessed with it! Highly recommend checking them out, even if it’s just too look at something pretty.
Website: http://www.forloveandlemons.com
IG: @forloveandlemons

Saboskirt: This is a brand that I just stumbled upon while procrastinating on Instagram one day. They are based in Australia and have some really cool stuff and a lot of it is pretty affordable. I haven’t ordered anything from them yet but I do know they ship to the States! I’ve linked their IG account and their actual website below, highly recommend checking them out!
Website: http://saboskirt.com
IG: @saboskirt

Leave a Reply

